About the Commission

The Wrentham Historical Commission is a body of Town government with the responsibility of preserving, maintaining, displaying, collecting Town history, and using same for educational purposes.

The Commission maintains the Wampum House, a circa approx 1740 cape style farm house at Wampum Corner, 677 South Street.

The Commission also executes the Town's demolition bylaw which can be used to delay historical building demolition for up to one year while alternatives to demolition are explored. Per Wrentham Town Code, Chapter 297-2 Definitions Definitions, any home fifty years or over that is proposed to be demolished will come before the Historical Commission for approval.

The Historical Commission shares space with the Cultural Council at the Old Fiske Library, built in 1894, and now renamed the Old Fiske Museum. The Museum hosts a variety of exhibits and open houses throught the year. The commision gallery features historical artifacts from Wrentham's rich history. 

The Commission has a historic Plaque Program, paid for by Sweatt Funds, which provides the estimated date of building construction along with the original owner and/or a significant other owner, and is for display on the front of the building for the public to view.

The Historical Commission participates in Wrentham Day. It also offers educational talks to various groups, students and local access television.


Gregory Stahl, Chairman
Leo Baldyga, Vice Chairman
Kim Shipala, Treasurer and Secretary
William Keyes


79 South Street
Wrentham, MA 02093


No office hours.

Phone Number

(508) 384-3495

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Historical Commission Meetings

Our meetings are held the 3rd Tuesday of each month.
Meetings start at 7:00 pm
Old Fiske Museum, 55 East Street.
All meetings are open to the public.

Emergency meetings are held, if necessary.

The Wrentham Historical Commission is not to be confused with the Wrentham Historical Society. The society was a private club which was dissolved in 2013. The Commission is a body of Town government, its members being appointed by the Board of Selectmen.